Streamlined Sales Tax Agreement Member States

The law allows CSPs to retain, in the contract with the SSUTA board of directors, a portion of the tax on the turnover/use of certain sellers who register via the vat-optimised registration system. See WAC 458-20-277. We register your business for free with participating NTS states. Pre-registration for VAT collection in a state does not prevent you from using THS in that state. Check out Minnesota membership details on the Streamlined Sales Tax Board website. As part of this accession, Washington moved to a targeted local VAT system. On July 1, 2008, Washington became a member of SSUTA. Washington sits on the board of directors of the agreement and votes on the changes and interpretations of the SSUTA. Avalara applies EST rates and rules to applicable transactions to provide real-time VAT calculations in your shopping cart, free of charge in countries where you are an EST volunteer. SSUTA is a co-operative of member states to simplify and standardise the sale and use of tax collection and administration.

This agreement aims to reduce costs and administrative burdens for retailers who collect VAT, particularly retailers operating in several countries. Since February 2017, there have been 23 participating states alongside Washington, D.C. Member States are states that are “compliant with the agreement to sell and use online through its laws, rules, regulations and directives.” Member States include Arkansas, Georgia, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin and Wyoming. Associate Member States are states that “have achieved substantial compliance with the terms of the agreement as a whole, but not necessarily at any qualitatively measured provision.” Currently, Tennessee is the only associated member state. [2] A PSC is a certified agent under the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement.

About the Author